Magnus by Sylvie Germain


Sylvie Germain

Franz-Georg Dunkeltal is five years old at the end of WW2 but who is Magnus? Franz has a gap in his memory due to an ‘illness’ and he can’t remember what happened to cause his family’s flight from Germany. A very unusual, sometimes challenging but immensely moving book which unfolds in fragments as Franz begins to discover the disturbing truth of his own identity.


They have lost everything, even their names. They have swapped that of Dunkeltal for Keller: the parents are now called Otto and Augusta Keller, and he simply Franz Keller. Only his bear Magnus is entitled to retain his original identity. The child interprets this absurd alteration in his own way. He tells himself that in the bewildering confusion that now prevails, where the least thing, even a crust of bread, a cigarette butt become a tradeable item, a name too can have an exchangeable value ... he keeps to himself his bewilderment, his doubts and questions, and lets them gravely mature in his solitude.

  • The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne
  • The Book of Nights by Sylvie Germain

Books with similar mood

Talk of the Town

Jacob Polley

The Scent of your Breath

Melissa P

Night Watch

Malin Lindroth

The Man Who Saw Everything

Deborah Levy

We That Are Young

Preti Taneja

The Murder Farm

Andrea Maria Schenkel

Double Vision

Tricia Sullivan

We Need to Talk About Kevin

Lionel Shriver

At Swim, Two Boys

Jamie O'Neill

The Little Girl Who Was Too Fond of Matches

Gaetan Soucy


Jostein Gaarder

The Lone Woman

Bernardo Atxaga


Anthony Cropper

Horse Latitudes

Jay Merrick

Santa Evita

Tomas Elroy Martinez

Sunset Oasis

Bahaa Taher


David Foster Wallace

On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous

Ocean Vuong


Hasan Ali Toptas

The Prophets of Eternal Fjord

Kim Leine

As Though She Were Sleeping

Elias Khoury

The Dovekeepers

Alice Hoffman

The Pleasures of Men

Kate Williams

The Taker

Alma Katsu


Tony Bianchi

The Blue Manuscript

Sabiha Al Khemir


James Meek

Oryx and Crake

Margaret Atwood

The Accomplice

Kathryn Heyman

Kith and Kin

Stevie Davies

The English Years

Norbert Gstein


Don DeLillo

Crawling at Night

Nani Power

Under the Frangipani

Mia Couto

Blood Data

Lury. Gibson

Soul Mountain

Gao Xingjian

As She Climbed Across the Table

Jonathan Lethem

The Blind Assassin

Margaret Atwood

The Siege

Helen Dunmore

A Brief Excursion & Other Stories

Antun Soljan


Sarah Waters

Death Is Hard Work

Khaled Khalifa

The Kills

Richard House


Aatish Taseer

The Map and the Territory

Michel Houellebecq

How the Dead Dream

Lydia Millet

Fault Lines

Nancy Huston

In the Wake

Per Petterson

Black Juice

Margo Lanagan